David Ortiz credited with second hit against Yu Darvish, Rangers

May 14, 2014 - 11:07 am
Last Friday, Yu Darvish came within an out of no-hitting the Red Sox. Except that, with the benefit of revisionist history, he did not. As the game was being played, David Ortiz broke up the no-hitter with two outs in the ninth inning by pulling a single through a shift. But Major League Baseball has awarded Ortiz a single on a routine pop-up that dropped between Rangers rookie Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios, overturning a ruling by official scorer Steve Weller at the time -- with two outs in the seventh inning -- that the failure to catch the ball represented an error on Rios. Weller cited the commentary in Rule 10:12 a1 in charging Rios with an error. The rule states: It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder'€™s legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer'€™s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge such fielder with an error. For example, the official scorer shall charge an infielder with an error when a ground ball passes to either side of such infielder if, in the official scorer’s judgment, a fielder at that position making ordinary effort would have fielded such ground ball and retired a runner. The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball. Ortiz, who said at the time that he would have been fine with the ruling had Darvish completed the no-hitter, told reporters after that contest that he expected the ruling to be changed and to be credited with a hit on the untouched fly ball given that it wouldn't represent the difference between a no-hitter and one-hitter. '€œThey have to [overturn Weller's decision]. Otherwise they going to have to fix some [stuff] up. They have to,'€ Ortiz told reporters. '€œI mean, OK, I know I hit a ball that was supposed to be caught, the guy is throwing a no-hitter, we all understand that. But when it comes down to the rules in the game, that'€™s a hit. That'€™€™s the rule that we all know and that'€™s the rule the game has for more than 100 years. the ball in the outfield drops between the infield and the outfield and nobody touched it, that'€™s a hit.'€ Evidently, MLB -- which did not offer any commentary on the overturned scoring decision -- agreed.