How far do Vezina winners take their teams in the playoffs?

DJ Bean
March 30, 2011 - 8:03 pm

Everyone knows that goaltending plays a major role in the postseason. It isn'€™t always about who has the best goalie, but who has the hotter goalie. This season, the Bruins have the best goalie, as Tim Thomas seems to have all but sewn up the Vezina. So, if Thomas is awarded the trophy this summer in Las Vegas, will he receive it having recently won the Stanley Cup? We take a look at how far goaltenders' teams have gone in the playoffs in their Vezina-winning seasons. First, here are some quick numbers on Thomas if he is to win the Vezina this year: - He will become the first Bruins goaltender to win it since some guy named Tim Thomas way back in 2008-09. - He will become the fifth goalie to win multiple Vezinas since the adoption of its current criteria in 1982 (it had previously been awarded to the goalie who played the majority of the games for whichever team allowed allowed the fewest goals). He would join an elite class of all-time greats, as Dominik Hasek (six), Martin Brodeur (four), Patrick Roy (three) and Ed Belfour (two) have also won the trophy multiple times since then. - Since 1982, only Thomas and Pete Peeters (1983) have won the Vezina while playing for the Bruins. - Thomas would become the third Bruins goaltender to win multiple Vezinas, joining Tiny Thompson (four) and Frank Brimsek (two). He would join Thompson as the only Boston goaltenders to win two Vezinas over the span of three seasons. Thompson won it in 1936 and 1938, and also won in 1930 and 1933. Now here'€™s a look at how the teams of goalies that won the Vezina recently fared in the playoffs that season: 2010: Ryan Miller -- Sabres eliminated in first round 2009: Tim Thomas --€“ Bruins eliminated in second round 2008: Martin Brodeur --€“ Devils eliminated in first round 2007: Martin Brodeur -- Devils eliminated in second round 2006: Miikka Kiprusoff --€“ Flames eliminated in first round 2005: Season cancelled due to lockout 2004: Martin Brodeur -- Devils eliminated in first round 2003: Martin Brodeur -- Devils won Stanley Cup 2002: Jose Theodore -- Canadiens eliminated in second round 2001: Dominik Hasek -- Sabres eliminated in second round 2000: Olaf Kolzig  -- Capitals eliminated in first round Note that only Brodeur in 2003 even led his team past the second round. Since 1988, only two teams with Vezina winners have won the Cup that season. The Bruins are trying to prove they can make it to the Eastern Conference finals after knocking on the door, the past two seasons, so judging by these numbers, they might have to hope that history doesn'€™t repeat itself.