Video: Brad Marchand's hit on R.J. Umberger

DJ Bean
March 16, 2011 - 5:59 am
Categories: 

People aren't too happy about Brad Marchand's hit on R.J. Umberger in the second period of Tuesday night's 3-2 shootout win. Some are even wondering whether Marchand could face discipline despite not being called for a penalty. Take a look. In the day and age of Rule 48, it's no wonder such a hit is being scrutinized by fans. It falls right in line with the penalty, even if it wasn't called: 48.1 Illegal Check to the Head '€“ A lateral or blind side hit to an opponent where the head is targeted and/or the principal point of contact is not permitted. '€œI haven'€™t seen it, but I'€™ve heard he might have left his feet with an elbow,'€ Umberger said, according to Puck-Rakers. '€œThat'€™s what it felt like. ... You've got to think that'€™s one of the hits we are trying to eliminate, whether it'€™s inadvertent or not.'€

Comments ()