Biggest 180s: Cubs overcome 3-1 deficit to win first World Series in 108 years

Mike Cratty
March 04, 2019 - 12:43 pm

If there’s anything you remember from the 2016 MLB season, it could be the rampant discussion of whether it was finally going to be the year that the Chicago Cubs broke their longstanding World Series drought. Before winning that season, their last title came 108 years ago in 1908.

Their roster featured some big names such as Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Jake Arrieta, and Jon Lester. Despite capturing a World Series title in the end, the road to that glory wasn’t an easy one to travel. 

Through the first four games of the World Series, it was the Cleveland Indians who had the decided advantage with a 3-1 stranglehold over the Cubs. The Cubs didn’t roll over and die though. Instead, they went on to battle back all the way to an epic Game 7, which turned out to be one of the best Game 7s in MLB history.

Dexter Fowler hit a leadoff home run for the Cubs in Game 7, setting off a crazy game. The Cubs built up a 5-1 lead, but the Indians came storming back, capped off by a three-run bottom of the eightht that tied the game at 6-6. Before extra innings could get underway, everyone got a breather with a 17-minute rain delay after the bottom of the ninth.

The Cubs scored two in the top of the 10th to make it 8-6 before Rajai Davis responded in the bottom of the frame to cut it to 8-7. But it ultimately wasn’t enough for Cleveland, as Mike Montgomery closed things out for the Cubs and sealed their first World Series title in 108 years.

Awaken 180° Weightloss, the effective, long lasting solution to weight loss for all lifestyles.


Comments ()