Red Sox set 25-man World Series roster with no changes

October 23, 2013 - 6:19 am

The Red Sox announced their 25-man roster for the World Series on Wednesday morning, keeping intact the same group that won both the American League Division Series against the Rays and the American League Championship Series. Despite some questions about the physical condition about Clay Buchholz, the starter remains on the 25-man roster, with John Farrell having said on Tuesday that the right-hander is expected to start in either Game 3 or Game 4 of the World Series in St. Louis. (It is worth noting: If there is an injury to Buchholz or anyone else during the World Series, that player can be removed from and replaced on the roster for the remainder of the series. A pitcher can only be replaced on the roster by a pitcher, while a position player can only be replaced by a position player.) Here is the now-familiar Red Sox roster for the World Series: PITCHERS (11): Craig Breslow, Clay Buchholz, Ryan Dempster, Felix Doubront, John Lackey, Jon Lester, Franklin Morales, Jake Peavy, Junichi Tazawa, Koji Uehara, Brandon Workman. CATCHERS (2): David Ross, Jarrod Saltalamacchia. INFIELDERS (6): Xander Bogaerts, Stephen Drew, Will Middlebrooks, Mike Napoli, David Ortiz, Dustin Pedroia. OUTFIELDERS (6): Quintin Berry, Mike Carp, Jacoby Ellsbury, Jonny Gomes, Daniel Nava, Shane Victorino.